Featured image of post XMG Launches APEX 16 and PRO 16 VE with RTX 5070 GPU: Dual AMD and Intel Platforms

XMG Launches APEX 16 and PRO 16 VE with RTX 5070 GPU: Dual AMD and Intel Platforms

XMG introduces new gaming laptops with RTX 5070 12GB GPU, featuring dual AMD and Intel CPU options, starting at $2,399.

Key Highlights

Key Highlights
Key Highlights|News screenshot

XMG officially launched its M26 series of gaming laptops—the APEX 16 and PRO 16 VE—featuring the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 laptop GPU (12GB GDDR7 VRAM) on September 10, 2026 (local time). Core specifications:

  • Release date: September 10, 2026 (local)
  • New models: APEX 16 (M26) and PRO 16 VE (M26)
  • Starting price: $2,399 (including 19% VAT)
  • GPU VRAM: 12GB GDDR7
  • Availability: Not specified in source material
  • SKU weights: Not mentioned in source material

Platform Differences and Technical Details

Platform Differences and Technical Details
Platform Differences and Technical Details|News screenshot

Both models feature a 16-inch display with 2560×1600 resolution, 300Hz refresh rate, and 500nits brightness, coupled with a triple-fan cooling system. The APEX 16 (M26) uses AMD’s processor platform, offering options of Ryzen 9 9955HX or Ryzen 9 8945HX. The PRO 16 VE (M26) is built around Intel’s Core i9-14900HX.

A notable discrepancy: PRO 16 VE explicitly specifies 195W total platform power, while APEX 16’s TDP is undisclosed—suggesting potential design divergence in thermal management between AMD and Intel configurations.

Both models ship with 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD by default, and provide 2 M.2 SSD slots. The APEX 16 includes a microSD card reader, whereas the PRO 16 VE supports Wi-Fi 7. APEX 16 integrates a 99.8Whr battery with a 2.35kg weight; PRO 16 VE’s battery and weight figures remain unspecified.

FeatureAPEX 16 (M26)PRO 16 VE (M26)
CPU PlatformAMD (Ryzen 9 9955HX / 8945HX)Intel (Core i9-14900HX)
Memory Slots32GB soldered (SMT details not disclosed)2 DDR5 SO-DIMM slots
Storage2 M.2 SSD bays2 PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD bays
ExpansionmicroSD card readerWi-Fi 7 support
Platform TDPUndisclosed195W
Battery99.8WhrUndisclosed
Weight2.35kgUndisclosed

Pricing and Upgrade Path

Starting price remains $2,399 for both models (including tax, approx. ¥16,147 RMB). APEX 16 upgrades to Ryzen 9 9955HX cost an additional €125 (approx. ¥975.2 RMB); PRO 16 VE’s current offering only lists the i9-14900HX SKU with no other variants disclosed.

Positioned slightly below premium brands like ASUS ROG and Alienware, XMG’s dual-platform strategy may strengthen its value proposition in the high-end segment—note the RTX 5070’s 12GB GDDR7 VRAM has not yet appeared on desktop platforms, making this a notably differentiated mobile configuration.

Recommendations for Buyers

Recommendations for Buyers
Recommendations for Buyers|News screenshot

  • Ideal for: Advanced users prioritizing high-resolution, high-refresh-rate displays; AMD platform advantages (e.g., Linux compatibility, multi-core creation workloads) or Intel ecosystem alignment; and those satisfied with the 32GB/1TB default configuration covering most gaming and light creative tasks.
  • Consider waiting: If Wi-Fi 7 is essential or you require definitive platform TDP info (e.g., budgeting for 200W-class machines), await XMG’s official release to verify APEX 16 real-world thermal performance. Linux users should monitor Ryzen 9 9955HX driver support updates.

Final Thoughts

The RTX 5070 laptop GPU’s 12GB GDDR7 VRAM upgrade reveals NVIDIA’s focus on balancing performance and power efficiency for mobile devices; XMG’s dual-CPU strategy may signal a new era where platform neutrality becomes a key battleground in the 2026 premium gaming laptop market.