Product Launch: SimpliSafe Video Doorbell Series 2 Available Now

SimpliSafe launched the Video Doorbell Series 2 today, extending its AI-powered proactive security feature to the front door. Key facts:
- Release date: Today
- Hardware price: $199.99 (doorbell unit only)
- Service fee: Requires Active Guard subscription (starting at $49.99/month)
- Availability: Requires SimpliSafe base station and keypad; compatible with Pro or Plus monitoring plans
- Feature control: Active Guard is opt-in and only activates when system is armed and triggered
The feature extends Active Guard—which debuted on SimpliSafe’s indoor camera in 2023 and expanded to outdoor cameras in 2024—marking its first deployment on a doorbell product.
Hardware Specs: 2K Resolution, 10x Zoom, Dual-Band Wi-Fi

The Video Doorbell Series 2 is a wired device with the following specifications:
- Video: 2K resolution, 150-degree head-to-toe field of view, 10x zoom capability
- Audio: Two-way communication with built-in far-field microphone
- Security: Local siren, up to five seconds of pre-roll video
- Connectivity: Dual-band Wi-Fi (2.4GHz and 5GHz); requires SimpliSafe base station
Smart alerts distinguish between people and packages, and users can build a library of familiar faces to prevent false alarms for regular visitors like dog walkers or delivery personnel.
How Active Guard Works and Privacy Safeguards
Active Guard combines AI detection with human verification:
- First layer: On-device AI plus cloud-based computer vision and facial recognition flag suspicious behavior (loitering, tailing, unusual pauses)
- Second layer: SimpliSafe monitoring agents—with user permission only—can briefly access live footage when triggered while system is armed, allowing them to see, speak to, and attempt to deter threats
LED indicators on the doorbell clarify who’s accessing the feed:
- Amber light: Monitoring agent is viewing
- Blue light: Homeowner is speaking
SimpliSafe’s privacy page states footage is encrypted at rest and in transit (not end-to-end) and that the company will not voluntarily share footage with law enforcement unless legally required.
Competitor Price and Feature Comparison

| Feature | SimpliSafe Video Doorbell Series 2 | Ring Virtual Guard (with Ring Alarm) |
|---|---|---|
| Device price | $199.99 | Not specified (requires Ring Alarm purchase) |
| Guard service fee | Starting at $49.99/month | $99/month |
| AI detection | Yes (device + cloud) | Yes (integrated with Ring Alarm) |
| Human intervention | Remote viewing and speaking | Remote viewing and speaking |
| Resolution | 2K | Not specified in source material |
| Pre-roll video | Up to 5 seconds | Not specified in source material |
Notable discrepancy: SimpliSafe’s guard service costs half of Ring’s equivalent ($49.99 vs $99) while delivering identical human-assisted features, and explicitly supports dual-band Wi-Fi and 2K video.
Buyer Recommendations

Best for:
- Existing SimpliSafe users who own a base station and keypad and want to expand coverage to the front door
- Residents in jurisdictions where false alarm fines apply—human verification significantly reduces false positives
- Cost-conscious households seeking robust security without premium pricing—$200 hardware plus ~$50/month represents a measured investment
Consider waiting if:
- You prefer self-monitoring only: Active Guard is subscription-only; standalone use offers event recording but no live agent response
- End-to-end encryption is non-negotiable: SimpliSafe explicitly excludes E2EE for video data
Closing Thoughts
Integrating human monitoring into doorstep security is not a technical inevitability, but for users in areas with strict false-alarm penalties, the marginal value of human verification as a filter appears to be gaining traction. A subtle bifurcation is emerging: automated systems compete on feature specs, while combination plans emphasize outcome certainty—potentially more valuable amid enduring homeowner security concerns.
